The Times They are a Changin’

Jesus is the same yesterday, today and forever.  His mercies are new every morning, great is Your faithfulness!

Earlier today, I was printing out songsheets to put in our new small group songbooks.  While I was stuffing the new .69 cent binders with these papers, I remembered doing this same process about three years ago in our old small group.  Back then, I was just learning how to play the acoustic guitar.  I didn’t know alot of songs. And, though other worship leaders made it look easy, I had a hard time playing in time or singing on key.  (I still don’t always sing on key).  In those days, due to not knowing how to play guitar, our worship times were, well, uncomfortable.  In fact, it was horrible!  🙂  I can laugh about it now.  But, back then, I wondered if I would ever get it down.  I was jealous of other guitar players who played and sang and led flawlessly.  But God is faithful.  Fast forward three years later, that timid guitar player is now a less timid guitar player on the worship team at our church.  God took this rebellious, arrogant and stiff-necked kid and sustained me through the humiliating times and refined me into a somewhat decent guitar player.  Most importantly, he has taken me-the chief of sinners and is using me to point myself and others to Christ.  Christ our righteousness, our High Priest, our Redeemer.

As I prepared those songbooks, I was reminded of all the people in the old small group that have come and gone.  I will never forget them.  They have encouraged me in so many ways.  God has showed me His faithfulness first-hand through their lives.  As I look back on what God has done, I look forward to what He has in store.  And I pray that I would rest in His sovereignty right now.  I’m excited, anxious, and terrified all at the same time.  But His grace is sufficient for me, for His power is perfected in weakness.

I dare not trust the sweetest frame; But wholly lean on Jesus’ Name.

Though our “frame” or feelings change, Jesus does NOT change.  He is the same yesterday, today and forever.  God’s mercies are new every morning.  Great is His faithfulness!

~ by cvillegas on September 25, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
