Carrying Each Other’s Burdens

Over the last few years, I’ve been blessed to be a part of the same small group.  In a way, this group reminds me of the band New Order.  New Order is a band that formed in the early 1980’s.  The group was comprised of the remaining members of the band Joy Division.  After Joy Division’s lead singer and songwriter committed suicide, the remaining members were left to regroup and decide what to do next.  They decided to reform and added another musician to form the band New Order.

Well, our small group leader didn’t kill himself.  He found a new job and left rather abruptly.  Though he knew he’d be moving on, it was still kind of unexpected.  So there we were, the remaining members trying to figure out what happens next.  One guy willingly stepped up and agreed to lead the group.  I decided that I’d try to learn how to play the guitar and lead the worship time.  But it was amazing how God sustained and grew us through some uncertainty and periods of learning from our mistakes.  Now, about four years later, I am amazed at the growth of everyone from that original group.  Through God’s grace, I’ve seen first-hand Galatians 6:2 lived out in my brothers and sisters: Carry each other’s burdens, and in this way you will fulfill the law of Christ.

The phrase “carry each other’s burdens” has been likened by John Stott to pushing a huge boulder up a hill.  Obviously, none of us could lift a boulder by ourselves.  But when other people come alongside us to push that boulder, that boulder is going to move up that hill.  It’s that kind of imagery I’ve experienced throughout the years.  Despite my stubborn pride to be a “loner”, God has blessed me with brothers and sisters to strengthen me in my “dark nights” to press on and to have joy in the Lord.

~ by cvillegas on August 3, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
