Why Should I Sorrow More

Why Should I Sorrow More?

Our Own Hymn-book #632

Words: William Williams 1772; Charles H. Spurgeon 1866

Music: Chris Villegas

 

Why should I sorrow more?

I trust a Saviour slain,

And safe beneath His sheltering cross,

Unmoved I shall remain.

Let Satan and the world,

Now rage or now allure;

The promises in Christ are made

Immutable and sure.

The oath infallible

Is now my spirit’s trust;

I know that He who spake the word,

Is faithful, true, and just.

He’ll bring me on my way

Unto my journey’s end;

He’ll be my Father and my God

My Saviour and my Friend.

So all my doubts and fears

Shall wholly flee away,

And every mournful night of tears

Be turn’d to joyous day.

All that remains for me

Is but to love and sing,

And wait until the angels come

To bear me to the King.

~ by cvillegas on June 17, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
