The Show’s Over

A few years ago, our pastor preached a sermon titled something like “The Show’s Over.”  One of the CDs that has influenced me the most and has had a profound effect on my Christian walk is The House Show by Derek Webb.  This CD was a taped house concert after the release of his first CD She Must and Shall Go Free.  One of the things that he mentions is how we all hide our sins.  I am an actor who has and continues to hide the sins I’m ashamed of most and then confesses the ones I feel safe about.

But I was dead in my transgressions and sins (Ephesians 2).  But praise God that, by grace alone, I am dead to sin and alive to God in Christ Jesus (Romans 6).  So why am I still hiding my sins?!  I was dead, but now I’m alive!  But yet I’m still clinging to my idols when I have this treasure in the Gospel.  C.S. Lewis  mentions how we cling to these “mud pies in the slums” when we who are in Christ have boundless grace and peace.  As sinners redeemed by Christ’s blood, we as Christians are necessarily called to community.  One thing I’ve learned is how I need my brothers and sisters to speak truth to my heart and to love me by encouraging and by rebuking me in love.   I’ve been blessed over the years to have a loving small group at church.  I’ve also had some great mentors there as well.

Therefore, the show’s over with me.  Because, as a sinner dead and made alive in Christ, I have no righteousness of my own.  If I boast, may I boast in Christ alone (Gal 6:14).  As a result,

Thou, therefore, all the praise receive;
Be shame and self-abhorrence mine.

One of the purposes of these hymns and this blog is to encourage us in our private times.  I don’t know about you, but I struggle alot during the week when I’m alone or worn out at work.  It’s during these times that we need to remind ourselves of the Gospel.  May these hymns encourage you in these private times.

CV

~ by cvillegas on May 24, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
