Welcome!

Hi everyone,

I’ve had an idea for a web/blog/music type project swirling in my mind for a very long time. I never knew exactly what that would look like. In fact, I still don’t know what that looks like. But I’ve decided to go ahead and start this blog. So thank you for taking time to visit this little site.

Those of you who know me know I am very much into hymns. Why hymns? Because they marry rich theology with beautiful poetry and imagery of our great God. What is most amazing to me is that these hymns were written in the midst of great persecution and suffering. These hymns aren’t simply “head knowledge” or wrattling off of theology. Rather they are seeing God in the midst of great trials. And they point themselves (and us) to Christ.

We need to be reminded of the Gospel. As Luther once said, we leak the Gospel. My heart, which is an idol factory, needs to be repeatedly reminded of the Gospel. I am dead to sin, but alive to God in Christ Jesus. I know this. But I forget it. And you can see it in the way that I live. I struggle with living out this truth. But, in the midst of this struggle, hymns point out my sinful heart. Then they point me to our great savior Jesus Christ who died for my sins. Once and for all! It is finished. If we confess our sins, He is faithful and righteous to forgive our sins and to cleanse us from ALL unrighteousness (1 John 1:9). Blessed are the pure in heart for they shall see God (Mat 5). I want to see our great God and this expulsive power of a new affection.

Therefore, I want to share some of these hymns with you. We need to remind ourselves and each other of the Gospel. We need to speak truth into one another’s hearts.

So one of the things I’ll do here is post hymn texts as well as songs I’ve written to them. These texts are old, obscure hymns taken from 18th and 19th century hymnals. They will be set to new tunes.

Also, I’ll post hymn stories and brief biographies of hymnwriters. This blog will also include my own meditations on scripture as well as Christian worship.

Keep pressing on!

Chris Villegas

~ by cvillegas on May 20, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
